## Ambedkar Jayanti (2025)

Ambedkar Jayanti is celebrated every year on April 14 to commemorate the birth anniversary of Babasaheb Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar. One of India's greatest social reformers, the principal architect of the Indian Constitution, and a relentless champion of

equality, Ambedkar was born in 1891 in Mhow, Madhya Pradesh, in the Mahar (Dalit) caste, who were treated as untouchables and subjected to socio-economic discrimination. Babasaheb rose above the oppressive caste system and paved the way for the oppressed. But limiting Babasaheb only as a 'Dalit Leader' will undermine his overall contributions. Regarded as the 'Father of the Indian Constitution' and as the chairman of the Drafting Committee, Dr Ambedkar's contribution to India is irreplaceable.



Date: 12th of April

Venue: Seminar Hall

Chief Guest: Principal Dr Fr. Roshan Baa

## **Events**

The Department of Political Science, with the ST-SC Cell, in collaboration with the IQAC, organized a program to celebrate Ambedkar Jayanti on 12 April 2025. Students of various departments enthusiastically participated in the event.

The program commenced with the traditional lighting of the lamp (Deep Prajwalan) ceremony, symbolizing the light of knowledge and wisdom. The master of the ceremony was Amulya Kerketta, a post graduate student of the Department of Political Science.

The chief guest, Principal, Fr. Roshan Baa, addressed the gathering and spoke on the importance of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar's contributions to the

nation. Speeches reflecting on the life, philosophy, and legacy of Dr. Ambedkar were delivered by Abhay (M.A. Political Science, Semester IV) and Nishi Priyanka Kerketta (Department of English, Semester II).

Assistant Professor Sunil Kerketta also highlighted significant aspects of Dr. Ambedkar's contributions towards social justice and equality.

The program was graced by the presence of Vice Principal Dr Fr. Samir Xavier Bhawnra, Bursar Fr. Bruno Toppo, and faculty members, including Asst. Prof Animesh Roy (HOD, Dept. of English and Staff Representative), Asst. Prof. Ajay Kumar (HOD, Dept. of Political Science), Asst. Prof Sunil Kerketta (HOD, Dept. of Hindi), Dr Illine Kongari (HOD, Dept. of History), Asst. Prof Amit Kumar Gupta (HOD, Dept. of Commerce), Asst. Prof Dr Nisha Rani Dhanwar, Asst. Prof Ishan Tiru, Asst. Prof Sani Santosh Toppo, Asst. Prof Shashi Jyoti Baxla, Asst. Prof Bipin Minz, Asst. Prof Roshan Kishor Gidh, Asst. Prof Pratima Pardhiya.

The event successfully paid tribute to the legacy of Dr B.R. Ambedkar and inspired the students to uphold his ideals of justice, equality, and fraternity.

## **News Clip**:

